GF Vegan Lemon Tagliatelle with Garlic Bread


So I have another Vegan recipe for you guys. Having some Italian heritage, I love pasta so when I found out I had to go gluten free, it was pretty tough for me but there are so many good products out there now that taste exactly the same. When I’m thinking about my weekly pasta dish, there’s always the decision between tomato based and creamy-this week I’ve gone creamy in a bid to learn more about Vegan cooking and see if my palette can adapt. And I can honestly say that I couldn’t taste the difference. Lemony, garlicky, creamy, carby, this was perfect for my mid week, hump day meal.

The other struggle I’ve had is gluten free, dairy free garlic bread and lets be honest, who doesn’t love garlic bread. All those garlic bread memes that are all over the internet at the moment are definitely me, so I couldn’t resist turning my old recipe for garlic bread into one that now fits with my intolerances.

Anyway, give these recipes a try and let me know what you think.

Lemon Tagliatelle

Sauce makes enough for 2-4 (depending on how much sauce you like with your pasta)

Ingredients

100g Vegan/Soy Cream Cheese

250ml Soy Single Cream

1 Lemon

3 Garlic Cloves, crushed

Handful of Parsley, chopped

GF Tagliatelle (Use serving suggestions)

Method:

  1. To make your sauce, combine the cream cheese, cream, garlic and grated zest of the lemon and blend. Sprinkle in chopped parsley. Let simmer while you boil the pasta.
  2. Boil enough pasta for the number of people you are cooking for.
  3. When pasta is almost cooked, add a ladle of the pasta water to your sauce with a squeeze of lemon juice and stir.
  4. Drain pasta once ready and add pasta to the sauce and mix until coated.

Garlic Bread

Ingredients

GF Ciabatta, halved

3 Garlic Cloves, crushed (this will make your butter very garlicky so adjust based on personal taste)

25g Soy based butter spread

Handful of chopped Parsley

Method:

  1. Mix together the spread and garlic until well combined and stir in the parsley.
  2. Spread butter onto your ciabatta slices. I’m quite generous with butter but again use your personal tastes.
  3. Place under a hot grill until bread has begun to crisp.

Enjoy,

H x

Leave a Reply

